top of page

What you see may just be one side of the story


Hi, I am Mr P*. I am 49 years old.

I am a gardener and have been diagnosed with schizophrenia for 15 years. I remember the toughest time was when I was feeling extremely scared and paranoid with my surroundings. It was a feeling of immense fear that could not be expressed. I was terrified to the extent that I did not dare to leave the house and was also unable to sleep. I kept hearing voices and feeling that I was in danger. It would take me one to two hours to calm down and feel better. Living with schizophrenia is very tiring. There are constant voices telling me to fight someone and that caused me a lot of trouble. Sometimes, I would quarrel with the voices during work, causing my colleagues to question my behavior. Things got so bad that I contemplated suicide to end the torture.

However, my wife and son are very supportive. They are constantly encouraging, reassuring and comforting me whenever I act up. My wife would also take me out so that we can be surrounded by nature which plays a big part in helping me cope with my condition. To de-stress, I would cycle with my son, listen to music and care for my pet fish. I have learned to regulate my thoughts about the voices I hear by telling myself that the voices in my head are not the reality. By doing so, I can stop myself from obeying those voices. I’m fortunate that I have yet to face discrimination from others. However, I believe my neighbor whom I have fought with might be a little cautious of me.

It was my sister and ex-employee who encouraged me to seek help from the Institute of Mental Health (IMH). At first, I was resistant to that idea and felt anger towards my family. However, after seeking professional help at IMH, I’m convinced that that’s the right choice as they have the resources and expertise in treating my condition.

I am thankful for the people at my current workplace who treat me well and understand my condition despite us getting into conflicts whenever I act up due to the voices. I find joy in my job. Each time I see the flowers and grass patches that are tidied and nice, I feel a sense of accomplishment and happiness.

I just want to let people know that with professional intervention and suitable medication from the doctor, individuals with mental health conditions can function just like regular people too. I’d also like to take this chance to encourage those living with mental health conditions to seek help and overcome their circumstances, and not let the condition define them.

If I can survive Schizophrenia for 15 years, have a full-time job and family, I believe you can do it too!

Now that you have read my story, how would you see us differently?

*Name has been changed to protect the privacy of the individual. This photo does not belong to the individual stated in this story.

Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Organised By
Serach By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page